2018 Northeast Indiana Education Awards

Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly 2018 Education Awards



These awards honor northeast Indiana educators who bring their passion for teaching and their students into the classroom every single day. Nominations now being accepted in 17 categories for the 2017-18 school year,

Pre-K through higher education.

The following 2018 Education Awards honorees will be featured in the October 19th education edition of Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly:


Early Childhood Teacher of the Year

Megan Black

Leap-N-Learn Preschool

Language Arts Teacher of the Year

Jeanette Goddard, Ph.D.

Trine University

Social Studies Teacher of the Year

Michael Blaz, Ph.D.

Trine University

Music/Performing Arts Teacher of the Year

Orene Colcord

Ivy Tech Community College


Fine Art Teacher of the Year

Ashlee Stephens

Lima-Brighton Elementary School

Teaching Excellence in Sports

Catherine Benson

Trine University

Counselor/Student Advocate

Tracy Rozier

Northrop High School

Mathematics Teacher of the Year

Doug Menz

Lakeland Middle School

Foreign Language Arts Teacher of the Year

Josh Kellenberger

R N Snider High School

Science Teacher of the Year

Laura Taylor

Fremont High School

Innovation in Teaching Award

Tammi Hicks

West Noble Primary

Emerging Star Award

Lisa McDougle

The Learning Community

Administrator/Principal of the Year

John Houser

Wayne High School

Leadership Award

Joe Messer

Manchester University

Teacher of the Year

Anthony Kline, Ph.D.

Trine University

Lifetime Achievement Award

Tim Tyler, Ph.D.

Trine University




Create your own user feedback survey


The 2019 categories are:

-Teacher of the Year
-Emerging Star (Less than 5 years classroom experience)
-Leadership Award (10 to 20 years classroom experience)
-Lifetime Achievement (more than 20 years classroom experience)
-Outstanding Principal/Administrator
-Innovation in Teaching
-Early Childhood 
-Music/Performing Arts Teacher of the Year (including choral, instrumental, theatre, and dance)
-Art Teacher of the Year (including drawing, painting, ceramics, photography) 
-Mathematics Teacher of the Year
-Science Teacher of the Year 
-Social Studies Teacher of the Year (including geography, history, and government)
-World Languages Teacher of the Year
-Language Arts Teacher of the Year 
-Outstanding Contribution to Special Needs Children
-Teaching Excellence in Sports
-Counselor/ Student Advocate 


Sponsorship opportunities are available for businesses interested in reaching this prime audience.

Contact us at (260) 426-2640, ext. 3324, or events@kpcmedia.com.  

About Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly

Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly is a business journal covering the 12-county region surrounding Fort Wayne and is a publication of KPC Media Group Inc.

KPC Media Group has been locally owned since its founding in 1911. KPC reaches the largest single audience of any media company in northeast Indiana. Along with Business Weekly, it publishes three daily newspapers,seven weekly newspapers, five community oriented monthly newspapers, two shoppers, along with phone books,and real estate guides and 16 websites. The company also has a marketing division, KPC Marketing Solutions, which offers design, advertising, printing, direct mail, website design, email newsletters, social media strategy, video and photography, promotional products, recruitment solutions via INHelpWanted.com and event ticketing and marketing solutions via KPCEventBuzz.com.