2017 Fort Wayne Education Awards

Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly 2017 Education Awards

Responsive image

Recognizing outstanding teachers in northeast Indiana.

The dinner event will honor educators in a number of categories. Winners will be presented with a special award and the opportunity to talk about their career and profession. Nominations will be accepted online and a panel of judges will determine the winners. The honorees will be featured inside the October 13 Business Weekly.

Wednesday, October 18
6:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Allen County Memorial Coliseum Conference Center
Official venue of all 2017 Business Weekly events

Tickets: $35

Exciting sponsorship packages, marketing opportunities and family, corporate and non-profit table packages available. For more information emailevents@kpcmedia.com.


Responsive image

2017 Education Awards Winners

IPFW Lifetime Achievement Award Higher Education

Ahmed Rachdi
Continuing Lecturer, Doermer School of Business

Lifetime Achievement Award PreK-12

Vicki Aniton
Pre-School Teacher
Early Childhood Alliance Beacon Learning Center

Questa Education Foundation Teacher of the Year

Mike Biers
Adjunct Professor, College of Engineering
Indiana Tech

IPFW Leadership Award Higher Education

John Milliken
Professor, Department of Criminal Justice, Psychology and Social Services/Assistant VP for Academic Services
Trine University

Leadership Award PreK-12

Amy Scott
1st Grade Teacher
Ascension Lutheran School

IPFW Emerging Star Award

James Canino
Associate Professor, Wade Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Trine University

IPFW Innovation in Teaching Award

Brenda Fleetwood
5th Grade Teacher
Wolf Lake Elementary

Principal of the Year

Tiffanney Drummond
Director of Career & Technical Education
Huntington County Community School Corporation

Art Teacher of the Year

Laurel Campbell
Associate Professor of Art Education/Director of Art Education

IPFW Counselor/Student Advocate of the Year

Alyssa Juday
School Counselor
West Noble Primary

Language Arts Teacher of the Year

Joe Camp
English Teacher
Fremont High School

Mathematics Teacher of the Year

Andrew Nash
Mathematics Teacher
Wayne High School

Music Teacher of the Year

Mark Kays
Assistant Professor of Music/Director of Instrumental Music
Trine University

Outstanding Contribution to Special Needs Children

Michelle Casiano
Teacher Resource Interventionist
Holland Elementary

Science Teacher of the Year

Benjamin Shappell
Biomedical Science - Project Lead the Way Teacher
Leo High School

Social Studies Teacher of the Year

Matthew Mertes
Social Studies Teacher
North Side High School

Early Childhood Teacher of the Year

Martha Shull
Pre-school Teacher
Good Shephard United Methodist Church Pre-School

Teaching Excellence in Sports

Bill Maddock
Associate Professor, Ketner School of Business
Trine University

Responsive imageResponsive image

Latest e-Edition


Is Gov. Holcomb right to sue?

On April 27, a lawsuit was filed in Marion County Circuit Court in which Gov. Eric Holcomb is suing Senate President Pro Tempore Rodric Brady, Speaker of the House of Representatives Todd Huston and the Indiana General Assembly as a whole over its passing of House Enrolled Act 1123 that gives the body the ability to call special sessions.

You voted: