Questa Education Foundation established a new partnership with AWS Foundation to provide a fully forgivable loan for students pursuing their first licensure, certification or degree in Special Education.

Questa and AWSF encourage students of education to receive further credentials and graduate with less debt. The education and training they receive will better serve the community by bridging the talent gap and providing quality education to people with disabilities. Initial funding will be available for the 2019-2020 and the 2020-21 academic year.

If chosen, a Special Education Scholar can have access to up to $5,000 a year as they complete their certificate or licensure. To qualify, students must be currently earning a degree or planning on pursuing a certification, licensure, or degree in Special Education. Interested students must be from one of the counties in Northeast Indiana including Adams, Allen, DeKalb, Elkhart, Fulton, Huntington, Kosciusko, LaGrange, Marshall, Miami, Noble, Steuben, Whitley, Wabash or Wells. To receive full forgiveness on the Questa loan, an individual must live and work in one of these counties and work in Special Education for 5 years upon graduation.

The application for the Special Education Scholars Program started this month with a March 1, 2019 deadline. For more information on the program and how to apply, visit or call us at (260) 407-6494.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.