Greater Fort Wayne Business Weekly recently honored local educators at its 2017 Education Awards.

The awards recognize outstanding teachers in northeast Indiana who engage and inspire their students individually and as a group encouraging life-long learning. The two out-of-state and one Fort Wayne judge all expressed the difficulties of choosing just one winner in each category.

The 2017 Education Awards winners are:

  • Ahmed Rachdi; IPFW Lifetime Achievement Award Higher Education; IPFW; Continuing Lecturer, Doermer School of Business
  • Vicki Aniton; IPFW Lifetime Achievement Award Pre-K-12; Early Childhood Alliance Beacon Learning Center; Pre-School Teacher
  • Mike Biers; Questa Education Foundation Teacher of the Year; Indiana Tech; Adjunct Professor, College of Engineering
  • John Milliken; IPFW Leadership Award Higher Education; Trine University; Professor, Department of Criminal Justice, Psychology and Social Services/Assistant VP for Academic Services
  • Amy Scott; IPFW Leadership Award Pre-K-12; Ascension Lutheran School; 1st Grade Teacher
  • James Canino; IPFW Emerging Star Award; Trine University; Associate Professor, Wade Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
  • Brenda Fleetwood; IPFW Innovation in Teaching Award; Wolf Lake Elementary; 5th Grade Teacher
  • Tiffanney Drummond; Principal of the Year; Huntington County Community School Corporation; Director of Career & Technical Education
  • Laurel Campbell
  • Art Teacher of the Year; IPFW; Associate Professor of Art Education/Director of Art Education
  • Alyssa Juday; IPFW Counselor/Student Advocate of the Year; West Noble Primary; School Counselor
  • Joe Camp; Language Arts Teacher of the Year; Fremont High School; English Teacher
  • Andrew Nash; Mathematics Teacher of the Year; Wayne High School; Mathematics Teacher
  • Mark Kays; Music Teacher of the Year; Trine University; Director of Instrumental Music
  • Michelle Casiano; Outstanding Contribution to Special Needs Children; Holland Elementary; Teacher Resource Interventionist
  • Benjamin Shappell; Science Teacher of the Year; Leo High School; Biomedical Science - Project Lead the Way Teacher
  • Matthew Mertes; Social Studies Teacher of the Year; North Side High School; Social Studies Teacher
  • Martha Shul; Early Childhood Teacher of the Year; Good Shephard United Methodist Church Pre-School; Preschool Teacher
  • Bill Maddock; Teaching Excellence in Sports; Trine University; Associate Professor, Ketner School of Business

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.